Awards & Honours

Dr. SC Parija Oration Awards

This is the most prestigious award of IATP given every year to eminent parasitologists from Indian or abroad in recognition of their contributions to the field of parasitology. The following people can apply for this award:
  1. The person must be of at least or more than 50 yrs of age
  2. The person must be of repute in the field of parasitology and should have contributed to the subject over a considerable period of time as evidenced by papers published in peer-reviewed journals, monographs/textbooks written on parasitological topics, etc.
  3. Apart from the academic institutions, individuals who have been active in the industry segment and have contributed to the development of parasitology as science would also be considered for the award.
The awardee will be given a certificate and a gold-coated medal at the annual conference of Indian Academy of Tropical Parasitology. Recipient will be required to deliver an Oration during this annual conference. Full transcript of the Oration would have to be submitted in advance for publication in the ‘Tropical Parasitology’, the official journal of IATP.

Award Recipients
2020 Dr.K.N.Prasad, Senior Consultant and Head, Department of  Microbiology,  Apollo Super Specialty Hospital, Lucknow, UP, India. Know More
2019 Dr. S Geethalakshmi, Vice Chancellor, Dr. M.G. R. Educational and Research Institute, Maduravoyal, Chennai, Tamilnadu, India. Know More
2018 Dr. Pradeep Das, Director, Rajendra Memorial Research Institute of Medical Sciences (Indian Council of Medical Research), Patna, Bihar, India. Know More
2017 Prof. T. Shanti Kumar Singh, Former Professor & Head, Department of Microbiology, Sikkim Manipal Institute of Medical Sciences Gangtok, Sikkim, India. Know More
2016 Dr. Suresh Kumar Govind, Professor & Head, Department of Parasitology, University of Malaya, Kualampur, Malaysia. Know More
2015 Dr.Gagandeep Kang, Professor of Microbiology,  Wellcome Trust Research Laboratory, Division of Gastrointestinal Sciences,  Christian Medical College (CMC), Vellore, Tamilnadu. India Know More
2014 Not Given NIL
2013 Dr. T.M. Mohapatra, Professor  Emeritus,  Institute of Medical Sciences, Varanasi, UP, India. Know More
2012 Dr. M. C. Agarwal, Former Professor & Head, Department of Parasitology, College of Veterinary Sciences & Animal Husbandry, Jabalpur, MP, India. Know More
2011 Dr.J. Mahanta, Distinguished Scientist Chair, Regional Medical Research Centre, for North Eastern Region ( ICMR),  Dibrugarh, Assam, India. Know More
2010 Dr. Nancy Malla, Former Professor and Head, Department of Medical Parasitology, PGIMER, Chandigarh, India. Know More
2009 Dr. R. C. Mahajan, Professor Emeritus, Department of Parasitology, PGIMER, Chandigarh. India. Know More
2008 Dr. B. C. Harinath, Former Director, Jamnalal Bajaj Tropical  Disease Research Centre, MGIMS, Sevagram, Wardha, Maharashtra, India. Know More
2007 Dr. Jyotish Samantaray, Former Professor & Head, Department of Microbiology, All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), New Delhi, India. Know More